When you archive a Slack channel, it doesn’t go away and only becomes dormant; that is its message history is saved on your workspace, along with any files transferred during the chat. So it will remain in your Slack workspace until you delete it.

Unfortunately, you can’t find your archived channels using the Channel browser on the Slack mobile app. To find and view them on your workspace, you must first open the desktop or online app.

Members of Slack can archive channels that they no longer utilize to remove them from the sidebar. Archiving allows you to concentrate on active channels while hiding those your team no longer requires.

Things can, however, change, and you may need to revive a channel that has been archived. You can access its contents at any time and unarchive the channel if necessary. Slack allows you to do so.

It’s reasonably easy to unarchive a Slack channel. All you have to do now is follow these simple instructions:

Steps to follow

  • Click File browser at the top of your left sidebar from your desktop. If you don’t see this option, go to More and look for it.
  • Click Filter and select Archived channels from the Channel type drop-down menu, or search for and pick the channel.
  • From the list, choose the channel you want to unarchive.
  • In the conversation header, click on the channel name.
  • Unarchive this channel by going to Settings and selecting Unarchive this channel.
  • If you can’t find the unarchive option, seek assistance from an admin or the owner.
  • If you have the authorization, you can permanently delete an archived channel if you no longer require it.

Conclusion:

You always have the option to pull the trigger and eliminate a channel if you are sure you won’t need it. However, if there’s even a remote chance that the channel’s data history will be relevant in the future, it’s probably better to archive it. Then, you’ll be completely unaware of its presence.

The archive icon will also notify you that you can no longer upload or send files on that channel. Simply unarchive it and rename it if you need to utilize its name. Unarchiving is simple and takes just a few clicks.

You should read about the process and the related technicalities in more detail.